Product Review – No Exceptions

Published March 10, 2011 by sleepydumpling

I am a really lucky blogger.  Every now and again I am lucky enough to get clothes sent to me to review.  Just a few weeks ago, I was invited to review a garment from No Exceptions Clothing, an Australian based online plus-size clothing retailer.  I chose this belted ruffle dress/petticoat combo because I’d secretly been eyeing it off for some time but had been to scared to order it because I couldn’t bear the disappointment if the dress wasn’t what I thought it would be.

Here, have a look at the pic from the website:

When it arrived from No Exceptions a bit over a week ago, and I unpacked it from the parcel, I did a little happy dance because to start with, the fabric is a really lovely quality.  It’s actually a Spandex blend but is very crisp and a great saturated black colour.  Secondly, it’s really well made.  The buttons are sewn on properly, the hems and seams are all strong and even.  The smocking around the ruffle collar is fast and even.  The whole garment is really good quality, as is the petticoat that comes with it.

So I ended up ordering the size 28, because I figured with the belting it was better to go up a size and be sure.  I got it home, tried it on and it looked AMAZING on me.  It is exceptionally generously cut, and the belt is beautifully long (I had a good 35cm of “tail” on the belt and was on about the third or fourth belt hole in – almost unheard of for belts on my death fatty body) and I reckon it would easily go to a size 32AUS or more at the size 28AUS, but with the belt, it just cinched in the waist and looked like it was made for me.  I will be ordering a size 26 from No Exceptions in future I think, but in this dress, it’s one that can go up or down quite a bit with sizing, because of that belt and the generous cut.

The petticoat with it is a Size 24-28, and I think it’s pretty true to size.  It fits me pretty right and I’m usually a 24/26 on the bottom half of my body.  It’s delightfully foofy and you can smooth it down for a low profile, or foof it up to make your dress sit out further.

It took me almost a week before I could wear the outfit though, because we had STINKING hot weather last week, and wearing lots of black on days like that is just begging for me to pass out in the street.  But I was able to wear it this past Monday, as it was much cooler.

So you want to see photos of me in it?  Okey dokey, here we go…

No Exceptions Dress1

Now I have to apologise, because for some reason my camera just behaved like a jerk that day.  It wasn’t until I downloaded the photos that I saw just how little light it picked up.  But at least you can get an idea of the neckline and the general shape on a super fatty body.

Cute right?  I actually didn’t wear the petticoat because I was going to work, and the petticoat was a little over-the-top even for me for a work day.  However, if I was going out at night, I’d wear the petticoat underneath for sure.  In fact if I was going to go out after work this would be a great dress, because I could just take the petticoat in and pop it on at knock off, add some big dangly earrings and a fresh coat of lipstick… voila!

For work I just wore black tights, my leopard print shoes and a pair of cute black and silver bow earrings.

I wore this dress all day at work, and it was so comfortable, cool and crisp, and I got LOTS of compliments for it.

The only thing I could say is that the petticoat doesn’t actually extend below the hem of the skirt (like in the photograph from the website) unless I wear it down around my thighs, but I don’t really want it to show anyway, I just want it to foof out the skirt.

So all in all I’m really happy with this dress/petticoat combo from No Exceptions Clothing.  And you know what the best thing is?  It’s marked down to $59 at the moment.  GO GET IT!!

I actually am so impressed I have ordered this skirt from them for just $25!! (should arrive in the next day or so):

And you know you’re seeing this red high waisted skirt with suspenders everywhere lately?

They have it in both black and red for $34!  I’ve seen it in a few places overseas but the postage just kills being able to get it from them, so here’s a local supplier Aussies!  Click on the pictures to go through to the No Exceptions page for each garment.

Anyway there are some really cute garments over there and some great prices, and they cover ALL plus sizes, even the we super fatties.  They also have lots of swimsuits at really good prices at the moment.  Check ‘em out, and Aussies – please support local businesses!

No Exceptions Clothing

31 comments on “Product Review – No Exceptions

  • I love that style of dress! :)

    But you know what i love even more? That this company is making these super-stylish, good-quality garments in larger sizes, AND for such amazing prices!!!!

    I don’t blame you for wanting to go on a bit of a shopping spree! :)

    • The fact that they acknowledge the existence of Super Fats is what wins them the most brownie points for me.

      In fact, they even have a few custom pieces that you can have made to ANY size. I also love that they are now using actual fat bodied models as they get more established. Bloody awesome!

  • *pouts* They don’t ship to the US. Oh well, just means I’ll have to look around for something similar. And that dress looks fabulous on you! ^_^

  • So cute! I adore that neckline, too! It is a very special and lovely dress, indeed. Thank you for sharing it with your readers. Death Fatties need to see how these things look on other death fatties! <3

  • The black dress looks amazing on you! Of course I’d love to see it when your camera isnt being a jerk! And could I love the animal print skirt anymore? NO! I want it want it want it!

  • I was reallysurprised how amazing the clothing is! I reviewed the leopard pencil skirt and LOVE it! There are a few items i’m eyeing, can’t beat the price & it’s really good quality!

  • For those of you outside of Australia, I have to say – now you know how we feel for MOST online retailers!

    But it’s worth looking around. I know Domino Dollhouse sells the red/black suspender skirts in the US (they post here but the shipping is jaw-droppingly expensive!)

    I’m going to have better photos taken next time I wear the dress, I really need to replace my camera!

  • Great dress! My only question is: Why is a plus size clothing company using ‘skinny’ models rather than plus size models?

    • Katie, most of them do. Take a look at any plus-size retailer. Asos Curve has only JUST added a “plus-size” model to their shots and her body looks NOTHING like most of their customers. But do go for a surf through most of the plus-size websites – it’s a disappointing practice that they all engage in.

      However, I do know that No Exceptions are moving from the manufacturer’s photographs that they used when the business first started (as seen above) to having their own models do shots for the garments. Take the time to go and have a look at their website and you will see the newer garments have FABULOUS fat models.

  • I’ll admit that I’ll grudgingly buy clothes (usually bras and panties though) from manufacturers that don’t use fat models but I’m happy to see that other companies are starting to *get it* that I need to see the clothes on a body that looks more like mine to get a far better idea of how they’d look on me.

    • Thing is Rachel, if you only use those businesses that have proper fat models, it limits an already limited range even more.

      That’s why I campaign at them to change that!

  • I’d totally give them my money if they were in/shipped to the US! Sadness! I love the models and the clothing and, heck, the prices are even good. Between No Exceptions, Autograph and that amazing Aussie Fat Studies conference, I’m starting to seriously want to move to Australia!

    • Anna, send them a message and ask them if they will. They are only a new business, so maybe that’s something down the track. They do tweet as well, @noxceptions

      Timothy, who runs the business, is very approachable and I’m sure will help where he can.

      Or yeah, you can just move to Australia. I’ll look after you!

  • You look so beautiful in that dress it is so nice to see dresses on body types closer to mine as I am totally not good at visualizing how a dress on a much smaller woman would look on me. It is also nice to hear about the quality, I love the stuff that they have up there and it makes me wish I lived in Australia even more! Thank you so much and keep up the awesome blogging!

  • Hey, on another note, does anybody know where I can get a nice white shirt for work in size 28 – 30? Its amazing how many plus size clothing companies seem to think that big girls dont actually need smart, professional looking business wear!
    xxx

  • For those in the US, its cheaper to go to the manufacturers site directly (due to pacific delivery costs), we list them next to the item :)

    • This is a pretty straight forward shirt-dress pattern – just belted at the waist. If you did have a seamstress, it would be a simple one to make ankle length.

      I had a look at sanctuarie – some lovely stuff there and good prices. Great for anyone with bodies that don’t fit into standard sizing too.

  • OMG Kath! I have this exact dress and I wore it for NYE. I got so many positive comments on it and looked just as gorgeous as my size 6 friend.

  • Comments are closed.

    Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 1,927 other followers

