Eeeeee! A Zine!

Published May 11, 2013 by sleepydumpling

Hey hey!  Guess what I’m going to do?  I’m gonna make a fab fatty zine!  Now, before you ask, a zine is a hand-made, self published, (usually) paper-copy publication.  I used to make one in my early 20’s when I owned a music store, that had all kinds of stuff in it – poetry, artwork, music, book and movie reviews, jokes, an agony aunt, whatever came to mind.  If you would like to get your hands on an already published fab fatty zine, check out Two By Four by Michaela and Chris Nowell.

So yeah, I want to make one chock-full of fat positivity.  And I’m looking for contributions!  Would you like to be in a zine?  Cos you totally can, if you want to contribute something.

What am I looking for?  Well, here are some guidelines:

  1. It must be on the topic of fat/fatness and be fat positive.  This zine will be a celebration of all things fat.
  2. It must be able to be reproduced in black and white on no bigger than A4 paper.  This helps me keep the cost down for the actual zine when it is published.
  3. It must not marginalise, oppress, other or dismiss other under-privileged people.
  4. It must be your own work.

Otherwise, it’s pretty much up to you!

Just some suggestions:

  • Artwork
  • Poetry
  • Review (book, movie, tv show, music etc)
  • Photographs
  • Humour
  • Advice
  • Comic strips
  • Use your imagination!

For example at the moment I’m working on a tongue-in-cheek piece about fat fashion “rules” which I hope to have an awesome piece of art to accompany it.

What I’d really like to see is some radical stuff.  Stuff that is overwhelmingly celebratory of fat people and fat bodies.  I want to “glorify obesity”.

Now, I’m not planning to make a profit on this zine, I will only be charging enough to cover printing and postage (where needed).  So all contributions will be voluntary and of course you will get FULL credit for your work.  And I will send you a free copy of the zine if your work is published.

The other thing I’m looking for is an awesome name for this zine.  Something that is empowering and bold and radical and that says “We are fat and we are awesome!”  And that is FUN.  So if you can think of anything, let me know.

If you would like to contribute or have any questions that you would like me to answer privately, please email me at fatheffalump at gmail dot com.

Closing date for contributions is Friday 25th of May as I have two weeks “staycation” booked off work from the 27th which will give me time to put it all together and prep it for distribution.

If there is something in particular you would like to see in a fab fatty zine, do let me know in the comments and I will see what I can do.

12 comments on “Eeeeee! A Zine!

  • Totally excited to hear about this! I don’t know if I have the creativity to contribute, but I’d love to buy a copy when it’s available.

    As for a title… “When The Fat Lady Sings”? It’s a tongue in cheek multiple-meaning pun, since it both references a fat joke, a common saying, and yet in this context would be incredibly positive – fat ladies (and dudes, of course) ‘singing’ about their experience and empowering one another.

  • Hello again! I’m really excited to see this, and I hope I have time to contribute. I have something I’ve previously written in mind, if that’s acceptable.
    In regards to the art – anyone have any good tips on photographing a pastel drawing? I have a piece that I think might fit!

  • I’m not sure whether I have anything to contribute but I will definitely buy a copy when it’s done! This is an awesome idea!

  • Sounds fantastic! Love your work so look forward to more on your zine, Especially the “rules” article. I get very cranky with the “black, loose, empire line with sleeves” or “fat uniform” as I call it.
    I’m fat not boring.

  • This sounds fabulous! I’ll see if there is anything useful I can come up with before your deadline, but my sister-in-law is an artist and has done some black and white artworks recently of which at least one was a gorgeous full-figured lady. I’ll contact her and see if she will submit an appropriate image.

  • Comments are closed.

    Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 1,963 other followers

