On the Telly!

Published May 29, 2014 by sleepydumpling

Just a quickie for those who haven’t seen it, I did a piece for news and pop culture show “The Feed” on SBS which aired on Monday night.  They kindly put it on YouTube, so I can share it with you here!

Enjoy!  It’s my first ever telly appearance! (Well, except for the time that news crew filmed me outside my work and used me as a headless fatty.)

36 comments on “On the Telly!

  • I love love love this! You are even more awesome in live action, Kath!

    I need to show this to my husband. I’ve been trying to find ways to ease him into fat acceptance (for his own sake, he adores me), but he’s having a harder time with it than I did. This has a gentle enough tone that it just might make it past the layers of self-loathing.

    • Remember Karen – anyone who can’t accept you for who you are, right this minute, is the one with the problem in the relationship, not you. It’s his burden to bear, not yours.

  • What a wonderful and empowering piece! Here’s hoping it brings a whole new flood of people wanting to learn and accept themselves as well as others.

    Plus now I know how you sound, which means I get to hear your actual voice when I read your words. That’s seventeen different flavors of cool in my book.

  • I like your hair.

    Thank you for posting this. This is the sort of post that I like to kick my day off with. World, here I come.

  • Thanks for sharing this, Kath. You all did a great job & the reality of what you all said is completely counter to all the ‘obesity epidemic’ BS they try to promote. I have been working on fat acceptance for 34 years now & I still needed to watch this after being under attack this morning by someone with whom I live who is convinced that I would not be having my current agonizing back pain & spasms if only I were thin & that, to deal with the back pain, I must immediately lose weight. Thanks for the reminders & thanks for the community. Despite the fact that this town, this state, is home to many fat people, there is no fat community.

  • You were one of the very first people I came across when I first fell into the Internet Vortex of Fat an Body Acceptance. So exciting to see you in this documentary as a spokesperson for FA. GO YOU! <3 Love it. Keep being awesome – which I know you will.

  • How interesting is that shot of you riding your bike, sitting up so straight and so proud? It is a wonderful image.

  • This is so lovely! Really great piece, thanks for sharing. And you seem SO fun and cool and nice! Great to see what you sound like, too. Have a wonderful day.

  • …Beautiful! Well done all around. Great to see (and hear!) you out there standing up for yourself and for all people. You’re a Pioneer! I applaud you for helping it all be a Love thing, really, in the end. Congrats and keep up the good work~

  • You were great Kath! Thanks for sharing that. It was cool to actually hear your voice and see your great smile in action!

  • That was great and you were awesome Kath! It was so cool to hear your voice and see your great smile in action. You’ve helped me so much to be nicer to myself and feel happier and more accepting of myself and to stop caring what other people think about me or the way I look. Thank you for sharing this.

  • Terrific piece! I’ve been reading your blog for some time and it was great to be able to finally hear your voice. Your outfit was lovely and I especially liked the shots of you on your bicycle with your bright and colorful leggings!

  • Congrats on your first TV appearance! <3'd it. I'm sure my friends I'll send it to will <3 it too. x

  • Thank you everyone for your kind words and support. I’m really proud of my participation in this story, it really was worthwhile me holding out for the right one.

  • It was great to hear your voice after following your blog for so long – that was an excellent interview! Wish I was in Brisbane so I could shout you a coffee sometime :)

  • Hey, nice to see you and hear your voice. For some reason I thought you were much older. Hugs from Canada.

  • Comments are closed.

    Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 2,022 other followers

