Fresh Ink

Published February 21, 2010 by Fat Heffalump

Phew!  What a week!  With all the hullabaloo on the Kevin Smith being kicked off a flight for being too fat debacle, plus my own little adventure in vastly increased internet attention thanks to my discussion with John Birmingham, it’s been pretty intense.

So when Ivan of  Fat in NYC gave me a nudge over not blogging my latest tattoo, I thought I had better do something about it.

Yes, I got tattoo number 5 a week ago.  Check it out:

Photobucket

I know, it’s not the greatest photograph.  But have YOU ever tried to take a photograph of your own left arm with a proper sized digital camera in bad light?

But you get the idea.  Isn’t my wee birdy beautiful?  The incredibly talented Victoria from Wild at Heart Tattoo here in Brisbane created him for me.  I didn’t have any real reference material other than a couple of photos of birds I got from a Google image search.  One had some markings in his feathers, the other was the intense shade of blue.  So I described to Victoria in an email what I wanted, and she came up with this guy for me.  The only thing I tweaked was the shape of the ribbon, just to tie it in to my other arm tattoo a wee bit.  I loved  her first draft artwork on sight.

However, it pales in comparison to the final piece.  I’m absolutely gobsmacked at what a gorgeous piece she has done.  And it’s on my arm for the rest of my life.  Weeeeeeee!

4 comments on “Fresh Ink

  • Oh it is gorgeous! I desperately need to get my back piece finished (color work done)…

    I would love to see pics of your other tatts if you are happy to share : )

  • Comments are closed.

