Portrait of a Blogger

Published April 8, 2010 by Fat Heffalump

Just a quick post tonight, it’s been a nutty week and while I have a lot of things I want to talk about, time is at a premium just now.

But I wanted to share this photograph with you all:

Photobucket

Isn’t it fabulous?

This is a portrait of me, done by 6 year old Tatiana.  It is also one of the greatest compliments I have ever received.  You will note the bright, colourful outfit, the big smile on my face and the small fuzzy chicken attached to my hand.  The small, fuzzy chicken I am told represents my owl handbag, which I know Tatiana loves.

See – owl handbag:

Photobucket

The drawing is part of a beautiful Easter card Tat and her big sister Ellie (aged 8, sorry, ALMOST 9) made for me.  I was very honoured to receive it.  Tatiana and Ellie are stylish girls, and I believe they have excellent taste.  So I’m thrilled that they think I’m pretty cool.  Ellie announced to me a few weeks ago that she loves my tattoos.

It’s really good for the self esteem to have young girls think of me as awesome and cool, even though I don’t fit the mold of what is usually role models for young girls.  Even though I’m a Super Fatty, I have weird coloured hair and tattoos, dress in loud clothes and love outlandish accessories, two little girls, the daughters of good friends, think I’m cool.

It gives me hope that kids do have a chance in the future of getting past all the negative body image and anti-women bullshit in the world, and forming positive, female friendly attitudes about themselves.

11 comments on “Portrait of a Blogger

  • Oh MAN but that rocks! What a delightful (not to mention accurate) portrait.

    Also, your owl handbag is single-handedly getting me past my life-long loathing of lizard/croc textures with wanting it so hard. Beyond awesome.

    • I have to tell you, my friend Nadia walked into my office with an owl bag exactly the same and I practically knocked her down in the rush to find out where she got it. It was like “You will be mine, my owly friend!” I called the store and got them to put one aside, and went and picked it up the next day! It comes in other colours too.

  • Oh geez, that bag is probably the most amazing handbag I have ever seen.

    Where did you get it? I need one! I did some googling and found a few similar designs but nothing quite the same.

    • I bought my owly friend a few weeks ago, at a store here in Brisbane called Mombasa. However a friend found them on eBay, so do a search for “owl bag” and you’ll probably bring it up. Apparently the bag seller that has them on eBay has LOTS of funky bags.

  • Do you know what I just noticed? The rainbow on my dress is light spectrum accurate… red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo. Smart wee chicken, our Tat.

    • When I get home tonight I’ll post the link. Can’t access eBay at work (surprise surprise) and Tat and Ellie’s dad emailed me a link to my home email!

  • Comments are closed.

