Response from Target Australia

Published October 18, 2010 by Fat Heffalump

Well, colour me impressed.  I emailed Target Australia (via their contact form) on Thursday night, basically a summary of my post about my experience in Target on Thursday.

I just got an email back from them today, which is quite impressive, considering they only let one business day go past before responding.  Here is the email:

Good Afternoon Kath,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us recently.

At Target, we are committed to ranging quality value for money merchandise, therefore we were concerned to read your comments regarding our range of our Moda Apparel.

Our ladies’ apparel range of merchandise is the culmination of research, monitoring trends and past sales history. Our Buyers work very closely with our Suppliers to develop a product range that will appeal to our core customer. Feedback such as yours also plays a part in getting our product mix right.

We are pleased to advise that the buying department will be a placing greater emphasis on fashionable apparel as well as continuing to provide core apparel lines. There is also a strong focus on providing the Moda customer with similar types of fashionable lines that are available in the regular size departments.

Thank you once again for contacting us and appreciate your valid feedback. We appreciate having the opportunity to provide this information, and we look forward to you continuing as a valued Target Customer.

Yours sincerely,

Christina
Customer Relations Department

Not a bad response hey?  It’s prompt, polite, acknowledges and thanks me for my feedback and explains their buying practice, while informing me that there is focus on providing similar fashion lines for plus-sized customers that they do for straight sizes.

I have responded almost immediately to make them aware of +Plus-Sizes Plus+ and my plans to blog the campaign here, and suggested that if they wished to know what plus-sized customers wanted from them, here’s their chance to listen.

I’ll keep you all posted as to what happens from here.

It’s really important that we promote good customer service and a willingness to provide what we are asking for as well as calling out those who aren’t up to scratch.

Here’s hoping that Target take this on board and we start to see some more plus-sized options that we like.

27 comments on “Response from Target Australia

  • I think the most important thing you are doing is giving *constructive* feedback. You’re not saying “your range sucks, fix it”, you’re saying “your range could be improved, and here is how” – I think that makes the retailer far more likely to listen to what you have to say.

  • Well done Kath. Here’s hoping Target’s practical response is as good as their email response sounds and that we can build a real partnership leading to real improvements!

  • This is excellent, you are making constructive progress and it is wonderful to see. I look forward to watching the progress of this campaign in due course

    Great work Kath

    • I hope so too. Put it this way, we’ve documented a response publicly, they’re gonna be taken to task if they don’t. We’ll keep working on them and all of the other major plus-size retailers.

  • Good onya Kath! Really, really hope that their words are followed by action. Target: I have money. I want to give it to you. Please make me some nice clothes!

    • Absolutely! I’ve got money. There is a big Target within 2 minutes walk from my workplace. I’ll be there with bells on to give them my money if they do the right thing.

  • Ohhh! I hope so! I really like some of their straight sized dresses. I’d love love love it if they were available in plus sizes! Nice tailored workwear in a good range of basic colours – with similar /complementary colours across several seasons so you can mix and match over time. Dare I hope???

  • The thing is Anna, I’m not going to go away. I’m going to hold them to that, and keep at them until they start to take notice. I’m going to keep rallying the troops behind me to do so as well. I believe that we CAN and WILL make a change.

    And I don’t think anyone is expecting wool or linen, just the occasional cotton or cotton blend product, rather than all synthetics.

  • Anna I vehemently disagree with you on this.

    Mostly I think you’re missing the point of what I, and others, are asking from the main chain retailers of plus-size clothing. Quality, variety and reasonable prices is not a radical concept. I’m not sure where you got the idea of that “neon yellow bodycon dress” from – that’s not what we’re collectively asking.

    Women ARE spending huge amounts of money overseas from online stores. One only has to see the frenzy around the Beth Ditto collection from Evans, or what happens when Asos have a sale. I myself buy from stores like Torrid, LucieLu, We Love Colors, Yours and such. Not to mention Etsy and eBay.

    And as an aside, I buy a lot of what Big W is offering because their stuff is far cuter at the moment than most other chain retailers! It’s cute, it’s reasonable in quality and it’s at bargain prices. There’s something wrong with the picture when Big W is offering more “fashionable” stock for plus sizes than Autograph, who market themselves as a “fashion retailer” has to offer.

    I’ll be taking on CityChic and their ridiculous prices and shoddy workmanship later. Two retailers is my start.

    I prefer to adopt an attitude of optimism and indeed tenacity on changing things, than one of defeat and pessimism. If you don’t wish to join in, that’s fine, it’s not an obligation. But I’d appreciate if you kept the pessimism to yourself or your own space.

  • I don’t know who this Anna person is, whether they have a vested interest in the plus-sized fashion industry that would like to shut a campaign asking for change down, or whether they are just a sad, bitter person who hates to see anyone with enthusiasm and drive.

    Or, are they just a troll, looking to get a reaction.

    Either way, I’ve removed them from being able to post. And will do so for anyone else who wants to come in here and discourage people from having a go at making change.

    Every day people can make a change. We’ve done it with the Lynx campaign (thanks Woolworths for listening to your customers and pulling your support) and recently we’ve seen it with Bonds, Queensland Racing, Cotton On and various others where everyday customers speaking up have made a difference.

    Thing is, people like Anna are wrong. We CAN and WILL make a difference. I’ve contacted two retailers so far, and both of them have responded. One has been in contact with me repeatedly, and we have something on the boil which I will publish when I can. The other is only early days, but I see so many of you willing to stand up and have a go at making a change, here, on the Facebook group, on Twitter, in private emails to me and even in person, that this Anna person can’t see, I know that it’s worth my continuing on.

    I fully believe in having the courage to make a difference. People who want to try to squash that are not welcome here. All they are doing is trying to silence folks from speaking up for what they want.

    • I hope that as a huge business they would be Ashley. They have the luxury of turning very large profits. If they can’t treat their customers with respect, they’d better lose those profits.

  • Love what you’re doing and I applaud you and am glad you’re getting positive replies.

    I do wish though, that instead of a group of people sitting round in an office – they organised focus groups to speak to customers face to face – they’d soon pick up a lot of useful information to help them sell more clothes. Something to think about maybe? x

    • I totally agree Red Curvette (love that username!) I’d love to see more hands on involvement with their customers (ooh, that sounds weird, but you know what I mean). Even a really comprehensive customer survey would be awesome, as I know that organising things like focus groups and such are time consuming and can be expensive. But you’re right – get out of that office and into the world of their customer.

  • While I didn’t agree with the majority of Anna’s post I can see some of her points.
    Good luck getting Target to listen. I found hitting my head against a brick wall far more productive to be honest so I hope you have far more luck!

      • You can’t blame her frustration, when it comes to Target that is, though, and that is more what I got out of her post rather than say any attitude.

        I know of the forum she mentioned in her earlier reply, and the hoops the moda buyer had to go through to get management to even listen. Target management do not care about their customer base as long as goods are going out the doors. Which is why the Moda line is back to where it started, because the ‘average’ Target customer plays it safe.

  • Comments are closed.

