It’s About Human Rights, Nothing More.

Published October 28, 2010 by Fat Heffalump

I don’t know about you, but I’m feeling a bit fragile after the whole Marie Claire debacle.  I’m not going to link to it, or go into any more detail, for a couple of reasons.  Firstly because I think Marie Claire should shove their free publicity up their arse.  Secondly because delving into it any more than I’ve already seen on all the other fabulous Fat Acceptance blog is only going to do my head in further than it’s already been done in by the absolute tidal wave of fat hatred that has washed over us for the past day or so.

Read pretty much any Fat Acceptance blog or Tumblr and you’ll find links if you really want to read it all.  Actually just go over to Fatshionista and let Lesley take you there – she handles it all beautifully.

I basically just want to talk about how I’m feeling about the waves of fat hate washing over us right now, and get my own thoughts and feelings out of my head and down somewhere that I can put some distance between them and myself.

I’ve been having a great week.  Monday was my birthday and I got the most awesome tutu in the world.  Tuesday I heard from an old friend that I hadn’t heard from in ages.  Yesterday I found out that I won the Ben and Jerry’s “Free Scoop Friday” competition for my office.  Today I went and ordered my new glasses, which are objects of retro-style awesomeness.  But for the past 24 hours or so, even though I’ve consciously tried to skim over all of the fat hatred that’s been borne of the Marie Claire debacle, it’s still been there, hanging around my neck like a millstone.  I’ve tried very hard to distance myself from it while still offering support to those who’ve decided to take it on and fight, and for those who are just struggling with how all of this shit triggers so many painful, difficult feelings in them.  I wish I could be there more for others, but right now, I have to be there for myself.

The thing is, to be a fat person in this world is to have vast amounts of violent, vicious, frightening hate directed at you.  Whether directly or indirectly.  One only has to read the comments on any obesity panic article published on a newspapers website to see just how much pure hatred is being sent out into the world towards fat people.

Now I don’t give a shit what anyone thinks of the whole fat/health thing, what anyone thinks about how much fat is costing taxpayers or who or what is at fault for fatness, or whether or not people choose to be fat.  Think what you want to think, because we all talk about it over and over and over and over again, sending facts and studies and evidence out to support our arguments for these topics, and either people behave like intelligent, critical-thinking adults and go and investigate that for themselves, or they continue on their narrow-minded, prejudicial, bigoted path to believe the propaganda they are being sold by the mass media and those who rake in a lot of money from the misery of fat people.

What I do give a shit about is that these are human fucking beings they are directing this hate at.  Every single human being placed on this earth by God (or however you personally choose to believe human beings are placed here) deserves basic respect, and has the right to live their lives without fear, prejudice, demonisation, hatred or discrimination.

It is a right, not a privilege, for all humans to live their life peacefully, with respect and fairness.

It’s that simple.  Seriously.

As far as I’m concerned, anyone who tries to remove that right from other people loses the right for themselves.

17 comments on “It’s About Human Rights, Nothing More.

  • For me this is the most important idea of all. It fills me with great sadness seeing people directing so much hate at other human beings, if we knew how to break humanity of that habit this world would be a far, far better place.

    (Are you familiar with Tom Lehrer? “There are some people in this world who do not love their fellow human beings – and I HATE people like that!”)

    • Mimbles! You quoted Tom Lehrer – and I LOVE people like that!

      (Bizarre side note: Mr. Twistie recently had to have a heart procedure, which went quite well, thanks. Anyway. One of the things that helped him relax a bit? The fact that the cardiologist reminded him of Tom Lehrer. We all take comfort where we can find it in stressful situations.)

  • I so wish this message could get through to all the haters. Those comments on the news article were the worst I’ve seen. Soo much hate. Such personal attacks. It’s so disturbing to me that they live on the same planet.

  • Well said. I saw that article after getting a link for Jen Lancaster’s counterpoint (which is also very well-written.) While it doesn’t shock me, I have to say I was amazed at how many people commented on that thing coming down on the columnist for those words.

    I agree about the fat/health argument– but as an accountant moving into the public finance sector, I always feel the need to comment on the “obesity is costing us!” horseshit. WHAT costs? I and most middle-class fat folks I know pay for our own health insurance and other associated costs. (Jennsylvania had a good rebuttal for that too!)

    • Yes, WE know it’s horseshit, WE know and TRY to educate people about the horseshit-ness of all of the obesity panic and pseudo-science, but even when presented with the facts, the hate is still there, they just change the reason.

      Even if it were all true, that fat people were a drain on the tax payer, and that we were unhealthy, and all of that crap, that still doesn’t negate our right to be treated with respect, dignity and fairness. It’s a basic, fundamental human right.

  • I feel furious and I am not even fat. How can she be so mean? Why does she feel the need of hurting people?

    By the way, Happy birthday, you looked awesome in the black tutu, I want one of this, but pink.

  • i dont read this mag but saw the story on the news this morning. I was immediatly disgusted with this bytch and her people-she blamed it on them-thinking this was ok. this was wrong on some many levels and someone should have seen it before it got to press.

    Lately people have been fired for making PC incorrect statements deemed prejudicial. Someone should call for this chicken heads job. She (and her cromie) are not fit to print the news…

  • I couldn’t have said this any better. I hate that people think its okay to be mean and rude to fat people, because its our ” own fault.” It is such bullshit.

    I will say that it was nice to see so many people commenting on the article and standing up against this type of treatment.

    P.s. I love your blog to pieces and you looked amazing in the tutu!❤

  • “It is a right, not a privilege, for all humans to live their life peacefully, with respect and fairness.”–Exactly.🙂

  • You’re absolutely right, of course. I really struggle getting past logic fail when I see it, but none of this would be justified even if there was no logic fail.

    I always want to engage an argument when I see it, but sometimes that’s just lending too much credence to something that deserves no respect whatsoever.

  • I wish “Life isn’t fair (and I’m doing you a huge favor by preparing you for that by being unfair to you now)” elementary school teachers believed in those rights.

  • Comments are closed.

