Safe & Dry

Published January 15, 2011 by Fat Heffalump

Dear friends, followers & fabulous fatties,

As I tap this post out on my iPhone, I’m sitting on the back deck of the home of some dear friends, listening to the heavily swollen Brisbane River thunder past not 50 metres from me. I can do this with the knowledge that the danger has passed & the river levels are slowly dropping. Two days ago, it was rising rapidly, to peak a few metres from where I’m sitting.

The past three or four days have been indescribable. I have watched my city, my state, face the biggest disaster of my life, and some are saying the biggest of the past 100 years.

I’m one of the lucky ones. My home is safe & dry. I have been without electricity now for more than 80 hours, but good friends have taken care of me & lots of kind people have checked up on me.

But it has been heartbreaking to watch my beautiful home city & state suffer.

I’m only able to leave a brief post here tonight but I just wanted to let you all know I am safe & well, and that I will post again when I get my electricity back.

Take care,
Kath aka Fat Heffalump

12 comments on “Safe & Dry

  • Big *hugs*

    I’ve been keeping track of you via twitter, so glad you’ve stayed dry. Bummer about the power I hope it doesn’t drag out too much longer!

  • Comments are closed.

