Quick Hit: Emma Thompson on Taking Up Space

Published March 19, 2011 by Fat Heffalump

I just want to share this beautiful video I found around the traps, of Emma Thompson for the Endangered Species Women project.

I’m biased, I love Emma Thompson with a fiery passion and have done for a very long time.  But it’s an important message.  As the video says:

Constantly worrying about your reflection and criticisng your body, shape and size is an act of violence against yourself.

Let’s just sit with that thought for a bit, shall we?

8 comments on “Quick Hit: Emma Thompson on Taking Up Space

  • What a concept!!!! Thanks for that. It’s 8:00 a.m., Saturday on the east coast of the U.S. and that was a beautiful way to start the morning. Gave me a whole new mindset to begin my day.

  • I love Emma Thompson so hard. And if just one woman or girl watches this and decides to try to be less self-critical, then she has performed an amazing public service. But I really hope a lot of women and girls watch this and take the message to heart.

  • Yet another reason to love Emma Thompson. Thanks for sharing this!

    And, as an aside, can she be in some more movies? I miss her!

  • Comments are closed.

