Quick Hit: How Television “Style” Shows Should Be!

Published July 26, 2011 by Fat Heffalump

This one keeps coming up today, so I think I’ll just share it as a quick post!

 

 

16 comments on “Quick Hit: How Television “Style” Shows Should Be!

  • Policing what people wear is just another form of body policiing.

    I’ve never heard of Miranda before, but I like her! “Brilliant! Wear that then. Bye!” is perfect. 🙂

  • That is freaking awesome!

    The single thing I detest the most about the vast majority of ‘we’re going to teach you how to dress’ shows is the fact that the subjects are usually hijacked off the street or ‘turned in’ to the fashion police by their nearest and dearest.

    Tim Gunn’s Guide to Style was a cut or three above because a) the women on the show ASKED to be there and WANTED some advice, and b) they were treated as collaborators in a process rather than naughty pets to be scolded and then shoved into the outfits the hosts prefer. There was even usually some sort of confidence-building exercise, since there’s more to looking great than wearing the same outfit everyone else has on.

    In the end, though, even that one entirely failed for me… mostly because of the insistence that every single person who went through the process had to get some version of the same ten ‘wardrobe basics’ and frankly I don’t believe in universal wardrobe basics. I really don’t believe in them when they’re as specific as ‘a little black dress’ (why can’t it be a versatile dress in the neutral color of your choice? why can’t it be a little black pantsuit for those who don’t ever wear dresses?), a trench coat (really? does the world really need another bad Bogie impression from a woman who looks crap and feels stupid in a trench coat?), and a white blouse (no, Virginia, not everyone really needs a white, stain-attracting blouse in their lives). Every life is different. Every wardrobe ought to reflect the life of the person wearing it, not an arbitrary list of items everyone has to check off.

    One person may live in jeans, another eschew them entirely, and both can be absolutely appropriately dressed for their own lives. Someone who works online has different needs from someone who works in an office setting who has different needs from someone who works in a gym or on a farm.

    If a good friend or family member asks specifically for my opinion on whether a piece of clothing makes them look the way they hope it does, I’ll give my honest thoughts on the matter. Otherwise, it’s none of my damn business. I will still tell someone in passing on the street that I really like their hat or I think their boots are really kickass. I like it when people make similar observations to me, and I usually get a smile in return when I do it.

    But go out of my way to tell someone they look like shit? Why the hell would anyone think that’s a good idea? And that’s what most makeover shows are based on: grabbing random strangers and berating them for not being fashion models.

    That sucks.

    This clip? Again, it’s awesome!

  • The only thing I’d want if I was ‘turned in’ to the Fashion Police is that $5000 credit card they give them because I know damn well the shops they usually send people to don’t carry my size. So I’d head on over to Re/Dress in NYC and drop that 5k like its hot.

  • I LOVE Miranda. Classic.

    The few times I’ve accidentally caught those kind of shows, the women involved always seem to be wearing facial expressions that suggest they’re horribly uncomfortable in what the hosts have put them in. It reminds me of Changing Rooms, where Lawrence Llewellyn-Bowen would make over a room and more often than not, the people who owned it would come in and totally hate it. Moral being, whatever your intentions, you can’t choose other people’s tastes for them.

  • Funny clip and a woman after my own heart. I can’t stand trinny and suzzanna and their fashion advice and body shaming.

  • Ha-ha! I love her/this!!! That IS how it should be, dammit! I’m going to start saying similar/positive things when I like someone’s outfit. “That’s a cute top, do you like it? Is it comfortable? Good on you then! Woo!”

  • I love Miranda! In fact, I too am british, a bit socially awkard, have had a crush on my best friend, and generally tend to get myself in scrapes that seem to be the sort that if you wrote them in a script would lend themselves to comedy. I’ve had family members that I’ve watched th show with, and mid show they’ve turned to look at me, and said something like “Remember the time you did that, or something like it?”

    But she’s so on the money….if a person is comfortable and happy, what else matters? I dress fashionably where I can, but thats because I get enjoyment out of it, but for the most part, I wear t-shirt and jeans and feel comfortable. Such Fun!

  • She’s brilliant🙂 the only value I think these shows have (and Gok Wan is the best by far) is it can give people confidence to try things and looks that they would love to try but too afraid to. Sometimes you need a jolt out of your comfort zone (although most of those shows are indeed horrid – esp any that also promotes plastic surgery!!!)

    • Oh yeah, I’m all for giving folks a stretch out of their comfort zone, but those shows are usually so fat loathing and all about “flattering” yourself. Blech!!

      Mind you, I haven’t watched any reality TV in so long, they could be completely different by now!

  • I haven’t laughed that much in a long time. I have to admit I can’t stand Trinny & Susanah but agree with the comment about Gok Wan. He really does seem to come from a place of caring and respect for the individual and tries to work on a persons self image rather than pressuring them to conform to societies views. He ran a campaign earlier in the year calling for fashion model representation for a group even less likely to appear in magazines than fat people-people with disabilities.

  • Comments are closed.

