Thank You

Published October 6, 2012 by Fat Heffalump

It has been well over a week since my last post here on Fat Heffalump, and with good reason.  I’m afraid that I was just worn out by the sheer level of hatred I have received over the past few weeks, and needed a bit of a break from the world of fat activism.  It started with the incident that I wrote about in that last post, blew up into some serious street harassment a couple of days later, and then I was hit with a whole lot of hate mail, troll comments and some fuckstick on Twitter who had nothing better than steal a photograph of me and create a fake Twitter account (of me) to harass me.

I also had this post on Tumblr go somewhat viral, and LOTS of people responded to it with their own horrifying stories of street harassment.  Unfortunately a lot of people sent me links to other horrific stories, examples of fat hatred and misogyny and generally triggering stuff, without really thinking about how that might affect me.  It really was just too much to take in.

Add all that shit to the general shit I get for being a visible fat woman, and I was EXHAUSTED.  I really just needed a break to regroup and

I haven’t had the spoons to be able to respond to all of the comments on my last post, but I did read them all, and I really do appreciate the kind words, support and compliments that have been left for me there.  I also appreciate all of the support, pictures of puppies/kittens/Tom Hiddleston sent to me on Twitter, especially to all of the people who took the time to report the fake Twitter account which was removed by Twitter fairly quickly.  I appreciate the people who sent me lovely emails.  And I appreciate the people in my local life (I don’t say real life – all of you out there in Internetlandia are real too) who stepped up to make sure I was ok.

I’m grateful to the friend who spent a day with me last weekend to give me some respite from the bullshit.  I’m grateful to the colleague who let me vent when it boiled into far too much for me to carry on my own.  I’m grateful to the friend who didn’t really know how to help, so he just spent all his time being silly trying to make me laugh, and he did and I felt LOADS better.  I’m grateful to another friend who took me out for a coffee so that I could clear my head then go back to work and focus on the job that I am passionate about.  I’m grateful to the people didn’t tell me to just get off the internet/not be so visible/cover my tattoos/stop colouring my hair etc.  I’m grateful for the support I get from my workplace.  And I’m grateful to my fellow fat activists who understand what the pressures are like being such a visible, outspoken fat woman.

I am a very lucky fatty.  Not everyone has the support base I do, and I am proud that I have spent the past years building up that support base and not tolerating people who put me down instead of building me up.

I’m very grateful that I have so many wonderful people in my life to support me in my activism, because no matter who you are, or what method you choose to do fat activism, it’s hard work, and it is exhausting work, as all social activism is.

So to everyone out there who did their little bit over the past couple of weeks to help me get through a tough time, thank you.  I do appreciate it and I hope I can be there for you when you need it, even if it is just to send you a picture of a puppy on Twitter!

Bless you all, and there will be posts again soon, in fact, I have a competition to launch in the next day or so!

16 comments on “Thank You

  • Take as much of a break as you need, Kath. We all need a chance to rest and recharge now and again. We’ll all be eagerly awaiting your next appearance.

    And since you’ve probably already seen the cutest puppy pics on the net, here’s a link to some adorable pics of hedgehogs: http://jwarnick.com/hedgehogf/pictures.html

    You know, for variety. And because I think hedgehogs are well up among the cutest things in the world.

  • I’m sorry to hear you’ve been going through such a tough time. I’m glad you have lots of people around you to support you during those times.

    And here is my contribution to (hopefully) making you smile:

    http://www.theoatmeal.com

    Take care and I look forward to reading some more of your blog when you’re feeling up to it.

  • The hatred is so horrifying. How do these jackwagons justify it? So many have been indoctrinated to believe that fat = bad, and they think it’s okay to behave in an evil fashion. I’m glad you’re here. I fully understand the need to step back at times. I’m a very sensitive person and when I tried to do a blog, I encountered such vitriol that I just had to stop because it was making me suicidal.

  • Wow just wow – the cruelty of people never fails to surprise me. I have been reading your blog for a little while now without commenting before and I wanted to say I very much admire your writing and your attitude. Thank you for fighting the fight.

  • It made me so sad to read what you’ve been putting up with. I can’t understand how people can do such things😦

    I’m also glad you don’t let them bully you. They are the ones who has to change, not you!
    Keep up your good work, it means ALOT.❤

  • Thanks to you. It’s so hard trying to be positive when others drag you down. Social media only compounds that.

    You are awesome, funny as hell and I’m kinda jealous you work in a library! (I LOVE BOOKS SOOOOOO MUCH!!!)

    You have a blog that has helped open my eyes. Has helped me on my own little journey of fat acceptance.

    Haters are going to hate. But I think you’re awesome.

  • you are awesome and i’m sorry you’ve been through so much. thank you for all that you do for so many people!

  • I was horrified when I read the beginning of this plog post. The optimistic side of me likes to believe humans have moved passed this deliverance of hatred based on arbitrary physical characteristics. Alas, there are still sad people in this world who judge and hate others. I even notice it in some of my friends who have started this new big diet kick and suddenly I am not “good enough” for them because I do not want to start the new miracle diet or pill. But, that is my own story. I truly cannot comprehend why, after all that we have seen, people continue to hate. What does hate change? Absolutely nothing.

    For you, I thank you. I thank you for your strength and bravery. I thank you for speaking out. I truly believe that for every negative comment or action taken against you, there is at least 10 lives that you have changed for the better. Know that when something negative does happen, you have every single man and women on the Internetlandia standing behind you. Please take care of yourself.

  • Take the time you need. Courage and bravery like yours demand superhuman strength and energy.

    Like many, many people out there, you have my support!

  • I’ve just started reading your blog recently and arrived amid what appears to have been a really crappy time for you. I’m saddened to hear how horrible humans can be, but glad you have a good support system. On a lighter note, I think you’re a really engaging writer and have MUCH respect for your ability to use proper spelling, grammar and punctuation — so few do! Really… I get WAY too excited about that kind of shite.🙂

    Take care!

  • I’m so sorry you’ve experienced such awful behaviour from others. I’m a reader who enjoys your words and ideas and I wish you all the best.

  • Hi, used to read your blog all the time but haven’t been back here in a while. I’m so sorry you had to put up with all that ugliness, there are so many people who just don’t seem to have anything better to do than attack anyone who doesn’t have exactly the same world view as they do. Glad you had people in the physical world to support you, and that you are coming out the other side now.

    I have always enjoyed your writing so am glad they didn’t frighten you off. Everyone needs to take a break now and then.

  • I have watched Julia Gillard’s anti-Abbott tirade several times recently and felt much better….

    If a strong, beautiful, powerful woman doesn’t have to take it with a “word”, I do not either.

  • Comments are closed.

