Frocktober!

Published October 13, 2014 by Fat Heffalump

I’m sure any of you who’ve been reading here or following me on other social media will be aware that I am rather fond of a good frock.  I have a natural aversion to pants, and have been known to shout “Down with pants!” any time someone suggests I might wear them.  Though between us, I have discovered a love of the soft pant, you know those loose fitting ones in soft fabrics, usually with nice deep pockets and an elasticised waistband.  Those I’ll forgive.

It wasn’t always like this.  For most of my life, I really was averse to wearing dresses.   That’s because I believed the garbage that they weren’t “flattering” enough for fat girls, and that “nobody wants to see that” and all of that other rubbish about what fat women should and shouldn’t wear.  So I lived in jeans and tunic tops, baggy “dress” pants and long maxi skirts.   I can’t even remember what the first dress I bought after finding fat activism, but somewhere along the line I bought a frock, put it on and loved it.  Slowly but surely over the past few years my personal style has changed and I’ve taken to mostly wearing dresses, especially to work or out.

This year, in honour of my love of frocks, because it’s my birthday month and because it’s for a very, very good cause, I’ve decided to participate in Frocktober to raise money for the Ovarian Cancer Research Fund.  My goal is to wear a frock every day for the whole month of October, a different one for each day if I can (I might be able to make it!) and document as many of them as possible.  It is now Day 13 and I’ve worn 13 different frocks, and documented 8 of them.  It’s a little hard on the weekends as a) I don’t have a full length mirror at home and b) if I’m just chilling out at home, my frock is something mediocre yet very comfortable!

Anyway, this is where you come in, dear reader!  If you can, I would love it if you could sponsor me for the month.  To do so, go to my Frocktober profile page where you can safely donate with all funds going to the Ovarian Cancer Research Fund.  Just to show you how vital research into ovarian cancer, here are some of the facts provided by the OCRF:

The Facts

  • Every ten hours, one woman dies from ovarian cancer in Australia
  • Ovarian cancer is the leading cause of death of all gynaecological cancers
  • Unlike other cancers, there is NO early detection test
  • Over 50% of the community incorrectly believe a pap smear diagnoses ovarian cancer
  • Ovarian cancer has a lower survival rate than both breast and cervical cancer
  • When detected and treated early 80-100% of women will survive beyond five years compared with only 20-30% when diagnosed at a late stage

You can follow me on Instagram or Tumblr to keep up with my Frocktober frocks and I will do another blog post towards the end of the month.  Until then, enjoy some of the first week of Frocktober’s frocks!

10629551_10152426798447404_372705230417348872_n

IMG_2952

IMG_2979

IMG_2989

IMG_3009

